Skip to content

Tickets Available for the 68th Annual Sports Gala

The Calgary Booster Club is set to roll out the red carpet for its 68th annual Sports Gala.

On June 26, athletic excellence and community leadership will be honoured at WinSport, one of the city’s sporting hotbeds.

Tickets are available for the afternoon of celebration — — and your support is always appreciated. Ever eager to recognize the spirit of sport, the Calgary Booster Club, through grants and endowments, awards more than $100,000 every year.

Its most prestigious award, Sportsperson of the Year, goes to Ron Logan, someone whose volunteer contributions in local circles are well-established. For nearly 50 years, Logan has had his hand in the Calgary Bantam Football Association.

Decorated on the day, too, will be the 2021 Athletes of the Year, with golf champion Riley Fleming pulling down the Scott-Mamini Memorial Award, and soccer star Stephanie Labbé earning the Henry Viney Trophy.

The Jack Gregory Award — for Special Olympics Calgary athletes — is awarded this year to nine representatives: figure skaters Amber Harriman, Emma Bittorf, Meg Ohsada, Kennedy Zaytsoff, JorDen Tyson; alpine skier Ferris Brewer; cross-country skiers Emily Ross, Sarah McCarthy; and speed skater Katie Saunders

This year’s distinguished collection of Honoured Athletic Leaders will also be toasted: Alan Rickwood (soccer), Michael Simonson (rowing), Mike Jorgensen (power wheelchair hockey), Olga Khabarova (rhythmic gymnastics), Dawna Morrow (field hockey), Dan Guglielmin (Calgary 55-plus Games Association), Mark Greenwald (inline, speed skating), Marie Powell (Special Olympics), Thomas Calvert (rugby).