Skip to content

2023 Calgary Booster Club High School Award Announcement

The 2023 Calgary Booster Club High School Awards have been announced.

The winners were honoured at a celebratory event earlier this month.

Here is a full list of the recipients, including the award name, the high school and the names of the winners:

  • Terry Dolan Award (All Saints): Trey Soondarsingh; Paige Forrer
  • Hayley Wickenheiser Award (Bishop Carroll): Clarke MacKenzie; Sydney Donkers
  • Don Buchignani Award (Bishop McNally): Makayla Gayle; Isaiah Guevara
  • Joe Petrone Award (Bishop O’Byrne): Mikkel Manio
  • Sheila Iversen Award (Bowness): Halle Craiggs; Thomas Hooper
  • Myrna Empey Award (Centennial): Ingrid Stols; Evan Koller
  • John Semkuley Award (Central Memorial): Madeline Cutten
  • Nev Anderson Award (Crescent Heights):Ella Purdie; Colin Illing
  • Al Taylor Award (Dr. E.P. Scarlett): Paige Smith; Ethan Brill
  • Allison Godfrey-Bobenic Award (Ernest Manning): Sorcha Shiu; Stone Nguyen
  • Erv Hickie Award (Father Lacombe): Elizabeth Aushall
  • Skip Morgan Award (Forest Lawn): Vivian Tat; Khanh Le
  • Lawrence King Award (Henry Wise Wood): Jordan Mayr; Michael Feng
  • John Schellenberg Award (Jack Jame/Alternative): Dhiren Chaudhari
  • Rob Wright Award (James Fowler): Jacob Terlesky; Elyse Vivier
  • Joe Massey Award (Joane Cardinal Schubert): Huldah Abi-Abiola
  • Sharon Reid Award (John G. Diefenbaker): Santiago Vargas; Halima Ahmed
  • Bill Mitchell Award (Lester B. Pearson):Damari Peart
  • Laurie Robertson Memorial Award (Lord Beaverbrook): Matthew Alloway; Kierra Lazowski
  • Don Maxwell Award (Nelson Mandela):Hashem Ershad
  • Stan Schwartz Award (Notre Dame):Maria Florez; Marco Chiodo
  • Bert Joines Award (Our Lady of the Rockies):Isabel Gonzalez
  • Henry Philip Taylor Award (Queen Elizabeth): Andrew Shan; Sarah Jardine
  • Tom Inkster Award (Robert Thirsk): Paige Doherty; Lucas Betche
  • Barry Kimick Award (Sir Winston Churchill):Mannat Dhillon
  • Gary DeMan Award (St. Francis): Mandy McIntosh   
  • Carol Ericson Award (St. Gabriel): Brandon Alobwede
  • Dr. Arlene McGinn Award (St. Martin de Porres): Matthew Boland; Hannah Dahl
  • Father Gallagher Memorial Award (St. Mary’s): Mark Saloni; Paulina Morrissey
  • LeRoy Pelletier Award (St. Timothy): Nichols Hooper
  • Al Holm Award (Western Canada): Kori Peciulis; Justin Hoang
  • Kevin Pelehos Award (William Aberhart): Zion Hughes; Esther Choi

Each school was given $1,000 in scholarship funds from the Calgary Booster Club, with 32 schools handing out awards based on post-secondary enrolment. Recipients have two years after graduation to claim their scholarship. The awards are named after a person who has had a significant impact on high school athletics for a minimum of 20 years.

Other high school awards from this year include:

Harry Hood Memorial Football Award, sponsored by the Calgary Stampeders Football Club. Each winner receives $1,000

  • Division 1 Football: Matteo Civitarese, Notre Dame High School
  • Division 2: Cameron Fewster, William Aberhart High School
  • Division 3: Khanh Le, Forest Lawn High School

Gretta Schwartz Memorial Award for the Outstanding Female Student Athlete over three years of high school. There were 28 nominees and the winner was Esther Choi of William Aberhart High School.

John Mayell Memorial Award for the Outstanding Male Student Athlete over three years of high school. There were 29 nominees and the winner was Santiago Vargas of John G. Diefenbaker High School.

Each winner of the Gretta Schwartz Memorial Award and the John Mayell Memorial Award receives a $2,000 scholarship based on post-secondary enrollment.