Skip to content


- Myrna Emprey Award -

About Myrna

Myrna was a physical education teacher, department head and coach at William Aberhart School for many years and had a tremendous influence on the success of the school in athletics. Her teams were always well coached and displayed a high level of sportsmanship and enthusiasm that created a role model for others to follow. She also spent 1 year as the Secretary/Treasurer of the CSHSAA while John Semkuley was away on sabbatical. Myrna then moved back to William Aberhart, then Bishop Pinkham Junior High and Robert Warren Junior High as an Assistant Principal, and retired from that position in 1998. Myrna was also very involved in club volleyball as a coach and administrator. She was Manager of the Canadian Women’s National Team from 1974-76, culminating with the Olympics in Montreal. Even in retirement, Myrna found time to remain active in the CSHSAA. She coached volleyball at Henry Wise Wood for 2 years and then moved to Centennial High School when it opened in 2004. As there was no gym that year, Myrna showed her dedication and commitment to the program by practicing at the local YMCA every morning at 6:30 am. It paid off as she led her junior girls team to the playoffs and a most positive season in their first year as a high school. The Calgary Booster Club recognized Myrna in March of 2006 at their annual Sportsperson Dinner as an Honoured Athletic Leader for her many years of service to sports in the Calgary community. Myrna is also a current Director and Chairman of the Awards and Recognition Committed with the Calgary Booster Club. In 2007 she was inducted into the Alberta Volleyball Sports Hall of Fame. This award has been named in her honour and was first presented in 1993.

Honoured Recipients

Starting in the 2016/17 school year, the scholarship awards program was revised, and each award was assigned to a specific school; to be awarded at the school, based on criteria set by the school. Additional scholarship awards were created at this time, so that all CSHSAA member schools had an award assigned to them to award to their students.

Previous Honoured Recipients

  • 2015-16 – Deborah Nyarko, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2014-15 – Carolina Alongi, Bishop Grandin
  • 2013-14 – Erica Walsh, Bishop Grandin
  • 2012-13 – Mariah Walsh, Bishop Grandin
  • 2011-12 – Megan Festival, Western Canada
  • 2010-11 – Tanille Schmidt, Ernest Manning
  • 2009-10 – Kristina Quan, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2008-09 – Chloe DesRoche, Bishop O’Byrne
  • 2007-08 – Lindsey Doland, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2006-07 – Karen Coldham, St. Mary’s
  • 2005-06 – Catherine Hamill, Bishop Carroll
  • 2004-05 – Andrea Lasby, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2003-04 – Jenna Tyson, John G. Diefenbaker
  • 2002-03 Tie – Sarah Lin, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2002-03 Tie – Leah Andries, Bowness
  • 2001-02 – Jori Hardin, Henry Wise Wood
  • 2000-01 – Rhonda Schmuland, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 1999-00 Tie – Suzanne Spence, St. Mary’s
  • 1999-00 Tie – Laura Watson, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 1998-99 – Amanda Moppett, Father Lacombe
  • 1997-98 – Gillian Lueke, Bishop Carroll
  • 1996-97 – Dorothy Kusmirek, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 1995-96 – Krista Kinsman, William Aberhart
  • 1994-95 – Theresa Locker, Bishop Carroll
  • 1993-94 – Corri Oenbring, Sir Winston Churchill