Skip to content

Dr. E.P. Scarlett

- Alan Taylor Award -

About Alan

In the 1970’s Al Taylor was a young physical education teacher at Dr. E.P. Scarlett High School, where he coached several boys volleyball teams to successful winning seasons. He then moved to the Outdoor School at Camp Kiwanis and managed it for the Calgary Board of Education for 8 years. Al’s next stop was Sir Winston Churchill High School, where he carried on the tradition of winning teams for 13 years. His work ethic, knowledge of the game, ability to develop young talent and a keen sense of promoting good sportsmanship resulted in many City Championship appearances and wins for the Bulldogs. Al then moved to Centennial to help open this new high school and again carried on a winning tradition by taking his senior boys to the City Finals that year.

As a teacher, athletic coordinator and coach he has made a major impact on all the schools he has worked at. His boys volleyball teams have won 10 City Championships and it should be noted he has also been a very successful basketball coach at the high school level. In his younger days, Al was a player and captain of Canada’s National Men’s Volleyball team and in that capacity, represented Canada at the Olympics.

Al retired in June of 2007, after 31 years of distinguished service as a teacher and coach. He is currently a Director in the Calgary Booster Club and continues to be active in volleyball as a referee. This award has been named in his honour.

Honoured Recipients

Starting in the 2016/17 school year, the scholarship awards program was revised, and each award was assigned to a specific school; to be awarded at the school, based on criteria set by the school. Additional scholarship awards were created at this time, so that all CSHSAA member schools had an award assigned to them to award to their students.

Previous Honoured Recipients

  • 2015-16 – Kyle Hall, St. Francis
  • 2014-15 – Alexander Granley, St. Martin de Porres
  • 2013-14 – Quinn Bromley, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2012-13 – Michael Deng, Western Canada
  • 2011-12 – Brett Walsh, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2010-11 – Scott Brunet, Western Canada
  • 2009-10 – Brandon Schmidt, Centennial
  • 2008-09 – Jarron Mueller, Central Memorial
  • 2007-08 – Gorden Evens, Bishop Carroll
  • 2006-07 – Joe Zhou, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2005-06 – Steve Glass, Central Memorial
  • 2004-05 – Brett Kilb, Bishop Carroll
  • 2003-04 – Joel Schmuland, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2002-03 – Kieran Slattery, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2001-02 – Scott Else, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2000-01 – Stephan Hautz, William Aberhart
  • 1999-00 – Remi Champagne, Bishop Carroll
  • 1999-00 – Josh Colvin, Lester B. Pearson
  • 1998-99 – Josh White, Bowness
  • 1997-98 – Paul Niemczewski, St. Mary’s
  • 1996-97 – Jeremy Lawson, Western Canada
  • 1995-96 – Michael Weldon, Bishop Carroll
  • 1994-95 – Guy Davis, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 1993-94 – Peter Exall, Queen Elizabeth