Skip to content

John G. Diefenbaker

- Sharon Reid Award -

About Sharon

Sharon has been a successful teacher and coach for many years with the Calgary Board of Education. Thanks to her enthusiasm, hard work and perseverance, she has left a most positive mark on her students and peers alike. She has been a long time supporter of the CSHSAA and in particular badminton, where her students continue to improve and impress both on and off the court. As a coach and chairperson, she has developed many players and programs and continues to do so at her current school, Queen Elizabeth High School.

Sharon’s dedication and passion has made her a most positive leader in all aspects of school life. She is a mentor to new coaches and an advocate for fair play, maximum participation and equal opportunity for all.

Golf is another of her interests and consequently she spent many hours trying to get this sport back into the high school program. Thanks to her efforts it was brought back for one year on a trial basis, but unfortunately didn’t last. However, high school badminton is thriving as more students become involved and both girls and boys programs are growing in numbers each year; which is a tribute to her leadership.

In summary, this award has been named after a most deserving and worthy individual.

Honoured Recipients

Starting in the 2016/17 school year, the scholarship awards program was revised, and each award was assigned to a specific school; to be awarded at the school, based on criteria set by the school. Additional scholarship awards were created at this time, so that all CSHSAA member schools had an award assigned to them to award to their students.

Previous Honoured Recipients

  • 2015-16 – Mattea Lee, Western Canada
  • 2014-15 – Tara Green, St. Mary’s
  • 2013-14 – Vanessa Lim, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2012-13 – Alice Wo, Queen Elizabeth
  • 2011-12 – Janelle Wong, James Fowler
  • 2010-11 – Emily Hughes, Bishop O’Byrne
  • 2009-10 – Bailey Komishke, St. Francis
  • 2008-09 – Ana Serban, Henry Wise Wood