Skip to content

St. Gabriel

- Carol Ericson Memorial Award -

About Carol

Carol was the head secretary for 23 years for the CSHSAA and was the glue that held the 14 members of the Physical Education and Athletics departments together at Central Office. She started with John Mayell, then John Semkuley and Tim Main, before retiring under Don Maxwell’s leadership. Every coach and PE teacher in both school systems knew Carol as an extremely pleasant and knowledgeable person on the total picture of athletics and physical education. In other words, she was the brains behind the organization! She had a great sense of humour, was very tactful and most considerate of everyone’s personal feelings.

Honoured Recipients

Starting in the 2016/17 school year, the scholarship awards program was revised, and each award was assigned to a specific school; to be awarded at the school, based on criteria set by the school. Additional scholarship awards were created at this time, so that all CSHSAA member schools had an award assigned to them to award to their students.

Previous Honoured Recipients

  • 2015-16 – Jamie Emery, William Aberhart
  • 2014-15 – Julia Kwan, Bishop Carroll
  • 2013-14 – Sam Kosman, Centennial
  • 2012-13 – Lauren Perry, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2011-12 – Melina Figueroa, Bishop O’Byrne
  • 2010-11 – Lindsey Logan, William Aberhart
  • 2009-10 – Kristina Quan, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2008-09 – Marianna Chapman, Western Canada
  • 2007-08 – Carolina Romeo, Centennial
  • 2006-07 – Stephanie Petrowitsch, Ernest Manning
  • 2005-06 – Marla Bennett, Henry Wise Wood
  • 2004-05 – Becky Iwanicki, St. Francis
  • 2003-04 – Sarah Wozney, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2002-03 – Lyndsay Thorlacius, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2001-02 – Not Awarded (Labour Unrest)
  • 2000-01 – Devon Plesuk, Ernest Manning
  • 1999-00 – Rhiannon Kreamer, St. Mary’s
  • 1998-99 – Stephanie Maxwell, William Aberhart High School