Skip to content

Western Canada

- Al Holm Award -

About Al

Al began what was to become a very successful teaching and coaching career at Mount Royal Junior High in 1979. Ten years later he moved to Jack James High School, where he coached volleyball, wrestling and track & field. From there it was on to Western Canada High School, where he built a dynasty in track & field by winning four City and four Provincial Championships. Mentoring and training these same athletes over this period of time was one of his coaching highlights.

Al’s next move was to Bowness, where he carried on his tradition of developing young athletes and successful programs. From there he moved to his current school, Centennial High School, and was soon totally involved in coaching football, cross country and track & field. His philosophy is simply that hard work and dedication brings about results, regardless of talent or lack of it. Seeing his athletes improve over a season of training and perseverance is a real perk for Al.

As chairman of high school track & field these last couple of years, the program continues to grow thanks to Al’s leadership and enthusiasm. He is a hard working teacher and coach who cares about kids and for this and many other reasons he was honoured by the Calgary Booster Club at their Sportsperson of the Year Banquet in 2008 as an Outstanding Athletic Leader in school & club sports. With people like Al coaching track & field it is a sure bet that the sport will continue to succeed for years to come. It is easy to understand why this award was named after him.

Honoured Recipients

Starting in the 2016/17 school year, the scholarship awards program was revised, and each award was assigned to a specific school; to be awarded at the school, based on criteria set by the school. Additional scholarship awards were created at this time, so that all CSHSAA member schools had an award assigned to them to award to their students.

Previous Honoured Recipients

  • 2015-16 – Ryan Smeeton, Henry Wise Wood
  • 2014-15 – Ewan Mackenzie, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2013-14 – Alex James, Crescent Heights
  • 2012-13 – Karl Wagner, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2011-12 – Chris Fitzgibbon, Sir Winston Churchill
  • 2010-11 – Matthew Schaeffer, St. Francis
  • 2009-10 – Brendon Skingle, Dr. E.P. Scarlett
  • 2008-09 – Cole Digel, William Aberhart